In Our Waiting

The saying “careful what you wish for” rings a whole new meaning when it rings true for you.  God had my dad in a waiting period for years.  He was tolerant, patient and he didn’t question why.  Some think times of waiting only pertain to situations such as finding a spouse, but I believe that to be false.  As a little girl we had a trucking business and a small construction company.  One night our machinery was stolen and a couple years later we were put so far into debt the trucking business went under also.  Well, me being dads little sidekick, I started praying for a family business at the ripe age of eight.  Nine years later we were blessed with a railroad company repairing railroad bridges.  It was all fun and games until that big dream I had as a little girl blossomed into my reality without me doing so much as lifting a finger.  And just like that, my dad’s time of waiting ended and mine began.

Galatians 6:9 “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”

Questions of me working with the business arose and so many other factors that came along with it.   While I did not inherit my dad’s patience or tolerance level I do believe God has something bigger and better in store if I wait as he has instructed me to.  I feel/find no peace about taking the easy way out and doing what I think sounds fun.  So I remember I cannot and will not sit indolently by, but keep in mind the right thing is not always the fun and even in our time of waiting God IS WORKING.  He will work through us and in us until the day we die if we let Him.   My wish to have a family business came true and I didn’t want it.  I didn’t see the blessing that was right in front of me and the opportunity I had been blessed with.  Instead I saw something that was going to take me out of my comfort zone and ruin my life.  I saw not a blessing but a curse.  A new lifestyle wasn’t what I was searching for.  An easy life was what I had wanted, but God states many times we would be set apart and He never promised we would be comfy cozy all the time.  However, if we follow him and his path we will find so many other amazing things our small humanistic brain could never even fathom.  We will see plans unfold, opportunities arise and blessings pour down on us like rain.  I don’t know what grand adventure and plan God is taking me on or where i’ll end up, but I do know that it will be worth the wait, no matter how long it may be.  My wait to see what kind of life He’s getting me into and what kind of future that life will give me.

Hebrews 6:12 “We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.”

Revelation 14:12 “This calls for patient endurance on the part of the people of God who keep his commands and remain faithful to Jesus.”

One thought on “In Our Waiting

Leave a comment