Artificial Is Bad For You

Last weekend, I got all decked out in my cutest retro clothes and went to one of the most rockin’ parties around.  When I say rockin’ I really mean rockin’t – these people know how to entertain.  They had live music, smoked meat, a movie projected in the backyard, and a bottomless cooler of yummy beverages.  I truly enjoyed myself for the entire 40 minutes that I was there.

Why did I leave after only 40 minutes if it was so awesome?  Because, only six people were willing to make eye contact, with me,  speak, or acknowledge my existence in some other way.  At first, I was pretty bummed because four of the six people were the hosts and couldn’t stand around to chat, and the other two had left.  The teenagers I had hung out with in past years that thought I was SO nice; they wouldn’t even humor me with a fake smile.

I sat down my card, took a cupcake, and left.  I walked around town, went to visit with my grandparents for a bit, then came home to go fishing with my dad and dog.  Later on, after I got done wishing that people were different, I found good in the situation as it was.  I don’t want artificial friends.  I don’t want people who can talk to me on Instagram or Facebook, but not in public.  I don’t want people in my life who make me the bad guy just for showing up.  I don’t want friends who go behind me to talk about me.  I want genuine people who really want to take the time to know me.  The real me, not just who you’ve heard I am.  So when people are mean to you in life, kill them with kindness.  Heap burning coals on their head, as proverbs would say.  Compliment them, tell them to have a good day, greet them with a smile and make them think they have won.  Because in reality,  you’ve won.  You’ve done the Lord’s work and turned the other cheek.  Don’t be fake about it, be genuine, loving, and pray that your kindness can help them be kind to others.

Proverbs 25: 21-22 ” If your enemy is hungry, give him food to eat; if he is thirsty, give him water to drink.  In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head and the Lord will reward you. “

Leave a Reply

