It’s Only A Truck

If you know my family you know that we are all about our trucks.  My brother has his square bodies, my mom has her little tonka truck, dad has his boring trailer hauler work truck and I have the only thing on the farm that doesn’t have a Chevy bowtie on the front.  It’s my fun, jacked up with a chip and a squealing turbo, teenage truck, it makes a lot of noise and it’s safe to say that I love it.  Well, tonight I was headed out and for some reason didn’t look behind me, I put a beautiful dent in my back passenger door and knocked my running board partially off.  I pulled forward, put it in park and started crying.  Now, if you know me even the slightest bit you know the only time I cry is at funerals and when one of my animals dies.  I sat in that truck and cried all of my mascara off.  Later on tonight when I got home I showed my brother the dent first, I figured he would be easier than telling dad.  He wasn’t….  He knocked my running board the rest of the way off and pointed out that the old Dodge I hit didn’t have a scratch on it.  I finally told dad, and he asked if I had gotten a sick feeling when I hit the truck.  My response of “No, I sat in the truck and cried all of my makeup off!” made him laugh so hard his face turned red.  Not exactly the reaction I was expecting, after he got done laughing him and Elias went out and popped the dent right out of my door.  I got so caught up in the fact that my truck had a scratch on it that I lost sight of the fact that if that was the worst thing to happen to me today, I was doing pretty good.

Proverbs 23:5 “Cast but a glance at riches, and they are gone, for they will surely sprout wings and fly off to the sky like an eagle.” 

I don’t want to sit and think about whats wrong with the stuff that I have. I want to give like I have everything in the world, even if I only have very little.  What I take for granted others would love to have.  Once I calmed myself down and realized that it was only a truck, it was only a scratch, it didn’t change the way the truck drove, all it did was make the appearance less desirable.  Sure the running board can’t be fixed, but Rusty and I are usually the only ones in the truck, and he doesn’t care.  Don’t get so focused on the materialistic items of this world that you forget that they don’t matter.

Acts 4:32 “All the believers were one in heart and mind.  No one claimed that any of their possessions was their own, but they shared everything they had.” 

Leave a Reply

