Am I?

I sat and played ping pong in my head for a good 15 min asking myself whether I was actively doing something to serve the Lord.  I am not involved in a youth group, I don’t attend a bible study, I try to be as kind, helpful and caring as I can be in my day to day life, but even I know that isn’t enough.  When all the questions that were surfing through my brain pertained to whether I was a good christian or not I stopped and sat back to look at the situation objectively.  I have this little blog.  Not many people read it, and by no means am I the next Elizabeth George, but this is my ministry, my life is my ministry.  What I write about is what God puts on my heart, I don’t write about the newest and neatest trend, I write about real life things that happen to me.  I put neat pictures on because I love photography, not because the perfect pose can make my life flawless.  I’ve been told I have it all together, and that is false.  I don’t have anything together, I forgot the cookies I was supposed to take to family dinner tonight, my truck is low on diesel and sometimes I let that lonely pit of sadness suck me in.  I sit and sulk in the fact that I’m staying in, again, on another Friday night.  I let myself overthink everything. From my out of town, full time job starting in May, to what happens if I have an anxiety attack at random today.  Then after God slaps me back into submission I hear Him tell me the simplest words I’ve got this”

Luke 12:25-34 “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life?  Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?  Consider how the wild flowers grow.  They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.  If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today; and tomorrow is thrown in to the fire, how much more will he clothe you- you of little faith! And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it.  For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them.  But seek his kingdom, and theses things will be given to you as well.  Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.  Sell your possessions and give to the poor.  Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will never fail, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys.  For where you treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

You are simply a delicate fawn in the hands of the Almighty, give in and let Him consume all the worry in your life.  Sit back and realize that He knows what you need and when you need it.  When I remember this, when I just look at how amazing things have turned out when I listen to him instead of myself I realize how great He is.  How amazing life can be if I let my treasure and heart be in Him instead of in worry and earthly things.  Only in Him can you find peace.

 

Leave a Reply

