Selfish and Ashamed

Last night I received an email from KONA leashes wanting me to use their products with my dogs, (collars and leashes) do some photography and send it in so they could publish it.  I was ecstatic, I read the email aloud to my family, spent the next hour smiling and then spent an additional hour browsing their website picking out what I wanted.  I sat around all evening thinking about the fact that 190,000 people would be seeing my photography!  Then my mom said something, “Wow! Could God have orchestrated that better?”  That is when I realized something, I was happy for all the wrong reasons.  I was happy because they had contacted me first, they reached out to me because they thought I was a good photographer.  I was happy because I finally got the chance to do something with my photography besides put it on Instagram and on my blog.  I never once just stopped and took a moment to thank God for this amazing opportunity.  I was selfish and thought I had done all of this based on my skills as a photographer.  Skills I wouldn’t have if God hadn’t blessed me with them.  In that little moment I was humbled and ashamed all at the same time.

Psalms 119:35-37 “Direct me in the path of your commands, for there I find delight.  Turn my heart toward your statues and not toward selfish gain.  Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.”

Check out KONA leashes website! They have some pretty neat stuff  and it is all handmade in the USA! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

