More Ways Than 1,2,3…

I got told once that I was very disciplined about reading my Bible but needed to be more open to contemporary music, hand raising, and the modern way of worship.  I needed to show my faith in other ways because it wasn’t just enough that I was reading my Bible daily and carrying on a relationship with the Lord based on the model I saw growing up.  I sat back in my chair, a bit taken by these words.  To be quite frank, I found it very annoying. I grew up singing out of a hymnal in the back pew next to my great grandma, and listening to the organ drown out the soft sound of the piano during church.  When I was little, I used to run downstairs to help the older ladies make cinnamon rolls before service let out. I always got put on frosting duty and let me tell you what, I got pretty good at it!  I don’t care for contemporary christian music, I don’t often listen to Klove, and when I sing, I don’t raise my hands, but that’s just me. There’s nothing wrong with doing any of those things; there are tons of different ways to show your faith.  Some people aren’t as expressive and demonstrative as others, and that’s ok.

John 3:19-21 “This is the verdict: Light has come into the world, but people loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil.  Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that their deeds will be exposed.  But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what they have done has been done in the sight of God.” 

Whichever way you choose to worship God, whether it is visible to man or not, is your business.  God knows how you worship Him, even if others don’t see it.  You are living for Him in His light, and that is what matters to Him.  It’s ok to be a christian who doesn’t follow the modern way of doing things.  One of my favorite ways grow closer to the Lord is by sitting down at a nice place mat with my Bible, journal, pencil, and a yummy cup of tea.  I don’t draw a crowd when I do this, I sit in silence alone and scribble little notes all over the greatest book ever written.  When God needs you to come out of your shell, He will call on you.  When God needs us to do His work He will send us.  We can’t be hidden.  Our fire can’t be put out, when our flames are smothered in hate from this world, we burn brighter.  Live like Christ.  Let others see Him through you and it won’t matter that others think you should be different.  You’re already different; you’re shining for the whole world to see, because you shine for Jesus.  Let others see that you’re different because the light of Jesus is shining through you and nobody has the switch to turn that one off!

Matthew 5:14-16 “You are the light of the world.  A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put on its stand, and it fives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Leave a Reply

