It’s a Sibling Thing….

Proverbs 17:17 “A friend loves at all times, but a brother is born for times of adversity.”

Well, that picture just about explains it all.  Taylor tries to take Elias’ hat, he freaks out and tries to take it back, and I attempt to act like we are all normal and end up looking just as silly as they do.

We’ve all got those friends.  We’ve walked around New York with them,  stood in the freezing rain watching trucks run through mud, gone to play pool at odd hours of the night,  stood at loud concerts perfecting lip reading skills because it’s too loud to hear anything, and many other adventures that sound ridiculous until that person calls and suggests it.  I only have two friends like that.  One is my sister and the other one is my brother.  I’m actually the middle sibling, but at 5’2″, with an older sister that stands a good 5″ taller than me and a 12 year old younger brother that is 5′ 6″, I’m often called out as the little sister.  It has become a family joke, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  My sis and I have been from one end of the country to the other together.  My brother and I have sat at tons of mud runs, car shows and drag strips hoping the Chevy wins (it always does).

Here’s the thing about all of us, we are complete opposites.  We don’t talk, think or look alike, but we all love spending time together.  I couldn’t be more thankful for my siblings; the people that drive an hour to come see me at 3:00 in the morning, go to Sonic with me in my pajamas, wait for 1:00 a.m. cookie deliveries with me, and watch every episode of  FRIENDS with me for the millionth time.  When it hasn’t been your day, week, month, or even your year they will be there for you (yes, we talk in FRIENDS quotes).  I love them to bits and pieces,  I couldn’t image my life without my dog loving big sis or my gear head little brother.   Hurt feelings and bad days are inevitable, but easier to deal with when you can come home to a loving family.

1 Corinthians 13:6-7 “Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

2 thoughts on “It’s a Sibling Thing….

Leave a Reply

