You Can’t Take My Reins

Have you ever had someone who thought you were great until you thought for yourself or did something they didn’t approve of?  I’m not talking about your parents, I’m talking about those people who think they can run your life better than God.  Trust me, I’ve had my fare share of them, and for a little bit their ideas seem good! They seem different and so you go with it and it’s all fun until it’s not.  When you finally get out of their trans and realize that you haven’t thought for yourself in awhile you decide to start making changes.  Oh, but they can’t have that, they still need that control over you, they need to feel empowered and they turn you into a project because through their eyes you need to be fixed or changed.  When in reality that’s not what really needs to happen at all.  What happens when you weave these people out of your circle and take your own reins?  Chances are they aren’t your biggest fan, in fact they probably won’t speak to you, and it’s for the better!! We must remember that other peoples opinions of us are not what matters, it’s Gods that matters.

Galatians 1:10  “Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God?  Or am I trying to please people?  If I were still trying to please people , I would not be a servant of Christ.”

I know that sometimes it’s hard to “lay down the law” with these type of people, they don’t usually give up easily, or take a hint the first time.  Cutting people out is never easy, and sometimes Mr. Nice Guy takes a little road trip so that you can get the job done, and that’s ok.  Now, I’m not saying go yell at everyone I’m just saying that sometimes you can’t deal with a situation with all the love and gentleness of Mother Teresa.

Galatians 5:1  “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free.  Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”

A yoke of slavery or a heavy burden on your shoulders can be that person dictating your life.  So cut them lose and be free.

Leave a Reply

