True to You

I’m just going to be real here.  In high school my best friends were my mom, grandma and sister. My favorite guys to hang out with were my dad, grandpa and brother.  I didn’t have many friends, and I never went out on a Friday night to party. In fact, I never got invited to parties.  I only ever went on a couple dates, that I don’t think could even qualify as dates…. I spent my weekends working with my dad, riding my horse, going shopping with my mom, or having slumber parties at my sis’ house. And I loved every minute of it.  Most would love to blame my lack of friends and my small social circle on the fact that I was home-schooled. But here is what I want to say;  That’s just how God made me, He made me to be me and if I acted like everyone else then who would be me??

      When I attended Ag classes at the local high school, I was automatically labeled as the home-schooled geek who studied Animal Science in her spare time.  I was ok with that. I loved who I was (still do) I didn’t try to fit in with the “ IN” crowd and I tried my best to stay grounded in the Lord.  Now, did I always act like a godly young lady?  No, but I knew I was different and I embraced it.                                                   But this isn’t about me in high school, this is about YOU in high school, middle school, youth group, when you’re sitting home on a friday night with your cat, when nobody texts/calls or likes that post you just put on social media, that click at your school/church/job or wherever you are struggling.

Psalm 29:25 “Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe.”

The mean people we have to encounter in life may seem like a hardship now but can actually be viewed as a blessing if you look at it objectively.  Those people who are mean to you want you to give into the thought that you are worth less than you are,they build themselves up by tearing other people down.

         A blessing I usually found in those situations was to be thankful that my parents didn’t let me act like that.  They taught me, they disciplined me and they loved me enough to show me that behavior like that can hurt other people for life.  Those girls who are manipulated and walked on all through high school, grow up and let that continue in their lives and believe that they are worthless.  They don’t see that their worth comes from the Lord.  They grow up to date the guy that doesn’t really care and never will.  They continue to have the friends that talk down to them because that is all they think they deserve.  When we keep our eyes off of that cool crowd, that guy, that car, those clothes, the way they look, and instead we keep our eyes on God then we realize that what God has given us is more than enough to make us happy.  Every time we think we should look, act, be like or live like someone else we are telling God that we can do His job better than Him.

           So let go of that person who keeps pretending to be your friend just so they have someone to walk on.  Break up with that guy who is leading you further away from Christ.  Stand out in a crowd because that is what us as Christians were meant to do, we weren’t meant to conform to the ways of this world.  When you realize that you are not defined by the people you hang out with, who you date, what you wear, what you drive, or how big your house is then you will be happier in life.  You have to be happy from the inside out because you can only paste on a smile so long before the real frown starts to show through.  He’s got a plan and a story written just for you.  All you have to do is follow Him and your life will be even more amazing than you ever thought possible.  And just be TRUE TO YOU! 🙂

Ephesians 2:10   ” For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

6 thoughts on “True to You

  1. Love your honesty Morgan, enjoyed the piece very much your wise well beyond your years you will go a long ways with your values with God’s help keep the faith!

    Like

Leave a Reply

